Taylor Wessing Portrait Prize

The Taylor Wessing portrait prize a contemporary art competition in which both amateur and professional photographs submit their portrait work to marked by judges.

The prize itself was started in 2003 and was originally called ‘the schweppes photographic portrait prize,’ but was changed to the Taylor Wessing portrait prize in 2008.

Since 2003 there have been 11 winners

  1. Roben Antoniewicz
  2. Jens Lucking
  3. Shara Henderson
  4. Richard Boll
  5. Jonathan Torgovnik
  6. Lottie Davies
  7. Paul Floyd Blake
  8. David Chancellor
  9. Jooney Woodward
  10. Jordi Ruiz Cirera                                                                                                                                                                              The last Winner being Spencer Murphy for his photograph of Jokey Kate Walsh ‘I was keen to include Katie,’ says Murphy: ‘I wanted to show both her femininity and the toughness of spirit she requires to compete against the best riders in one of the most demanding disciplines in horse racing. I chose to shoot the series on large format film, to give the images a depth and timelessness that I think would have been hard to achieve on a digital camera’.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s