Final Evaluation

For my final images I decided to produce a series of sport images within the a studio environment, these images were inspired by professional photographers like Bruce Ely and Bartlomiej Kopczynski. My goal for these images was to make them look as if they are shot on location rather than in a studio and I think I managed to achieve this with the lighting I used.

For two of my images I decided to keep them simple by using a simple lighting set-up and little post production, I only used two fill lights without soft boxes to create a hard light, I position each light to the side of the subject to create hard shadows on the face and make him look more intimidating. By not using soft boxes on my lights it gives off a lens flare which makes the photo seem like its taken a stadium rather than in a studio environment. For my first two images I decided to only adjust the brightness and contrast of the image in post production as I didn’t want the image to seem manufactured I think this helps my images to look like they are shot on location as they are not perfect. The camera angle I used these images is also very important as it was neutral and level with the subject making the viewer feel like they are looking directly at him but he is challenging them. These two images were inspired by sport photographer Bruce Ely who’s series of studio portraits for the Portland Trail Blazers were shot in a simile way to my own images but his images looked like the were shot I a studio and I didn’t want this.

DSC_0254 DSC_0270

My second two images were less successful in creating a non studio look as they have been heavily altered, I shot these images using the same lighting as my other images but added HDR toning to them, I like the effect this gives them and helps them stand out from other studio portraits as it rarely used in portrait photography, it gives the images a harder tone to them and works especially well with the boxing images. I saw an image by studio 8183 of a basketball player’s waist section I really liked this images so I tried to recreate this images with my own work, I think the HDR within the image is really effective¬†highlighting the reflection of light and the sweat on the body.

h2 h

Leave a Reply

