FMP Medium Experiments

For my FMP I want to shoot a series of documentary photos within abandoned place, however I have only ever shot on a digital format. I wanted to see what the best way to shoot my series was, so on a trip to a derelict RAF base I took two film cameras one loaded with colour film and one with black and white as well as a DSLR.

I have predominately worked with digital cameras whenever I have visited these places I love how versatile they are and the range of shots you can get from them. Its also easy to switch between lenses as well as equipment, such as flash triggers and timers. Another advantage of using a DSLR is the ability to see the photo right after you’ve taken it so you can retake it if its needed. I will shoot the majority of the images on a DSLR as it is the easiest medium to shoot on and get the photo you want.

DSC_0154

I had never worked with colour film before until the trip but I’m glad that I tried it out as I love the stylistic photos that it produces, the vibrancy of the photos is perfect for the images that I’m shooting. The photos also feel similar to the photos you can find on the internet from when the base was open, this makes it good to compare the photos from before and after the bad was open. However because the photos are shot of film you can’t see the photos that you’ve shot until after they are printed meaning that you don’t know what you’ve shot or even if the films been exposed at all. College doesn’t have the facilities to print colour film which means the process is not only expensive but I can’t control how the final images looks. I love that you can pick up the photos and look through them, I love this hands on approach to be involved in my final presentation. 

Scan 2

Black and white film is very similar to the colour film but it has a very different style. This project takes large inspiration from photojournalist Don McCullin he shot all his images on black and white film using a 35mm camera, I love the grainy texture the film gives off and I love this about my own black and white pictures. Another positive about using black and white film is the control you can have when printing the images this is something that separates this from colour film. Like colour film you can see your pictures until the film is developed, there are also a range of things that can go wrong when developing film exposing the film to light and ruining the film.

Scan 2wm

After experimenting with all theses mediums I think its too hard to just shoot on one of them so i’m going to shoot across all of them and use the best images from all three to create my final body of work.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

